Skip to main content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer
  1. Home
  2. /
  3. About Scottish Newspaper Society

About Scottish Newspaper Society

The Scottish Newspaper Society was formed in 2009 when the Scottish Daily Newspaper Society amalgamated with the Scottish Newspaper Publishers Association. Originally, the SNPA represented the interests of weekly publishers while the SDNS, which was founded in 1915, represented daily and Sunday papers.

SNS shadow

Our principal aims are to promote and safeguard the interests of the newspaper publishing industry in Scotland, to maintain press freedom, and to improve the profile of the newspaper publishing industry in Scotland.

There have been three directors of the SNS, the first being the previous director of the SDNS, Jim Raeburn OBE. On his retirement in 2012 he was succeeded by Jim Chisholm. John McLellan took over in September 2013.

The SNS is governed by a Council of members which meets quarterly and has three sub-committees reporting into it: the editors’ committee, the advertising and marketing committee, and the distribution committee. The Council is led by a president and vice president, who are elected every two years, and employs a director to administer its affairs.

On this website you will find details of our members, links to the websites of every Scottish newspaper,  and links to other important information about the operation of the press in Scotland and the UK. You can follow us on Twitter @scotnewssociety or connect with us on LinkedIn.